A force to be reckoned with

Standard

When I used to put my little daughter on the plane to visit her father each summer, I would whisper “remember, you are a force to be reckoned with.” Her father is wonderful, and I had no fears that she would be mistreated. She was just so young and so frightened. Maybe I was reassuring myself that I would survive her absence. She never reacted to it, but I always said it, even when she was a teenager and breezed onto the plane as an expert world traveler.

Yesterday we texted a conversation (we do this for fun now & again, have since she was a teenager and it was the only way we could talk without arguing, even when we were a room away from each other). I was telling her a bit about the challenges I’m having with my mother, and she sent me this message “Remember, Mom, you are a force to be reckoned with.” Sweet to hear in so many ways …

4 responses »

  1. tis the season for mother challenges! these woman are still a “force to be reckoned with”…. as much as you pray not to be a challenge when you reach your “golden” years, I am sure we will be, just in ways currently unforeseen…. and we will then still be “forces to be reckoned with….” This post is a tribute to the power of childhood messages!

  2. Good point, Sally. I will try to think of my mother as a force to be reckoned with, which she certainly was in the past. How is your mother-force doing?

  3. mother-force not doing well…. incredibly angry with increasingly compromised frontal lobes. But she is fine, why are you asking, thank you very much…..!!!!
    I love your post.

    • I imagine we’ll all be angry at that eventually. Guess I should have asked how YOU are doing. I’m going to practice saying “I can do it like it’s a big weight on me, or I can do it like it’s all part of the dance.” Think that will help? I did put the rubber band on my wrist two days ago, and I’m doing a little better. I think I’m going to need a whole bag of them, though.

Leave a Reply

